Mr O Broin's Class Website

Go to content

Main menu:

Under the Hawthorn Tree

Other Themes

The novel is by Marita Conlon McKenna and it the first of the 'Children of the Famine' trilogy. It tells the story of three siblings, Eily, Michael and Peggy O'Driscoll, who live in rural Ireland during famine times, and who are forced to travel a great distance alone to find safety with their Great-Aunts.

All about the Author
Marita Conlon McKenna

Complete Story Review

Teacher Resource Notes

Copyright Karl Broin |

Back to content | Back to main menu